Keeping it Small and Simple

2008.04.05

What I’d like to see on the new WP dashboard

Filed under: Wordpress — Tags: , — Lorenzo E. Danielsson @ 16:34

After having used the new WordPress dashboard for a few hours, the thing that sticks out is information overflow. Don’t get me wrong, as I said in my previous post, I mostly like the new dashboard.

But, I wish each block had an expander so that I could expand/contract it. That way, I would have more control over what information I see at any point in time. Further, it would be nice to be able to re-organize the blocks. The summary block that appears at the very top holds the information that I am least directly interested in. I would have loved to position that block at the very bottom instead.

I don’t know far it is possible to customize the WordPress dashboard. I’ve never wanted to do anything like this before. But now, I think it’s time to look into it a little. WordPress (the software) is open source, so it is simple to modify to your own needs, if you are running your own site, or running it locally. But, at WordPress.com, we cannot modify the code so we have to rely on whatever configuration options the UI gives us.

Moreover, I’ve noticed that the new UI leads to more scrolling. Possibly fewer clicks than before, but more scrolling. Having tags and categories beneath the editor on the Write page is beginning to get frustrating. The natural place to have these would be beside the editor, as before.

Interestingly, the Tags and Categories blocks do have the expanders that are missing on the dashboard.

All in all, the new WordPress.com look and feel is probably a step in the right direction with a few quirks that would need to be fixed. With regard to the things that used to be good and have got worse, there is an old saying: if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

